Overcoming Excuses

Ahhhhhh. Resolutions. Most of us start way too strong and then fizzle way too fast. Don’t try to say this isn’t you, I know I do it every year. This year I had the opposite problem. I didn’t start at all ! Until yesterday that is. (Let me clarify – I did NOT make a resolution… I told myself that I would focus on health and wellness and increase my extracurricular activity – but it was NOT a resolution!). My cousin who happens to be my coworker invited me to use the college’s gym that we have free access to. Being 20 weeks pregnant and having not exercised at all long before even becoming pregnant, naturally, I was a little apprehensive. As I stared at the text message on my phone, all of the normal excuses started running through my head. We have been getting out of work at 3pm for the last week and a half, and I have been taking advantage of that time to get some things crossed off my to-do list since I normally work until 5 and have significantly little time to get things done, and this day happened to be the first day that I had planned to just go home and enjoy the extra time to myself.

Now, many of you know me, but not well enough to know that I really, REALLY treasure alone time. I get it none times a week most of the time. I really wanted to say no, I really wanted to make something up, and I would find a way to justify my excuse for not being active. Then I remembered the little life that is baking inside me, and this came into mind:

motivational-no-excuses

So. I went to the gym. I did a whopping 2 minutes on the elliptical machine before my legs started to feel like warm cheese and I wanted to die. But I pushed through. I pushed myself for 15 minutes and the most amazing thing happened – I DIDN’T die! I was a little sweaty and certainly ready for a nap, but I didn’t die. I felt good for doing something, even though it wasn’t much, it was 15 minutes of an elevated heart rate that is good for my cardiovascular system. It was 75 calories burned that would have otherwise still been sitting inside me. It was 15 minutes that would have otherwise been spent sitting on my couch watching Grey’s Anatomy for the 18th time (although that still sounds really good…). Most of all – it was an excuse that I overcame.
It seems miniscule doesn’t it? Maybe it is for many of you who tackle this sort of thing every day, but it was a big step for me. My excuses are strong like bull, and they generally overcome my will power as well as anything else that tries to get in the way of my couch and I. Today, will power won. I consider that an accomplishment worth sharing. If you do happen to be one of the people who has no problem overcoming excuses, I applaud you – I even envy you, but I know that many of you reading this are just like me. Maybe my small accomplishments can be fuel for your small accomplishments. Baby steps towards wellness, everyone. Overcome one excuse this week and then pat yourself on the back for ignoring that siren call that is your couch.
Leave a Reply

